Thursday, October 11, 2012

PG entrance test: J&K Aspirants in dilemma

Srinagar, Oct 6: Uncertainty has shrouded the future of thousands of medical students vying for different post-graduate courses in Jammu and Kashmir as government is yet to take final decision over inclusion of state-run medical colleges in the national eligibility test through National Board of Examination.
While notification issued by the Medical Education Department has clarified that they are not participating in the nationalized common medial entrance examination being conducted in November this year, the appearance of available seats of Government Medical Colleges in Srinagar and Jammu on the National Board of Examination website has brought a situation of panic and depression to the students vying for the PG courses.
“The delay in final decision will create confusion in our minds and our future prospects will be at stake till any decision is taken,” the PG aspirants told Greater Kashmir. “We don’t understand why the government is confused,” the aspirants said.
“There are apprehensions that if government decides to participate in the test in next session, the seats in state-run medical colleges will go to students from other states,” aspirants said.
In the state-run medical colleges, there are around 300 seats, including 100 each in Government Medical Colleges, Jammu and Srinagar, and 50 each in Sher-i-Kashmir Institute of Medical Sciences (SKIMS) Srinagar and Acharya Shri Chander College of Medical Sciences and Hospital (ASCOMS) Jammu.


Lastupdate on : Sat, 6 Oct 2012 21:30:00 Mecca time
Lastupdate on : Sat, 6 Oct 2012 18:30:00 GMT
Lastupdate on : Sun, 7 Oct 2012 00:00:00 IST


SHARE THIS

Author:

AcrossPG is a online portal for Doctors and medical students. Specilly for medicos preparing for PG entrance exams.