Karnataka deemed university court case updates

The Karnataka High Court on Thursday directed the six deemed universities to adhere to their undertaking given to the State government on surrendering 25 per cent of the enhanced number of seats in postgraduate medical courses for allotment under the “government quota” for the academic year 2014–15.

A vacation Division Bench, comprising Justice N.K. Patil and Justice Ravi Malimath, issued the direction while modifying the April 16 interim order, in which the court had directed the deemed universities not to admit students for the 25 per cent of the total intake in PG courses.

Thursday’s order is applicable to deemed universities of KLE, Nitte, Manipal, BLDE, Devaraj Urs, and JSS.

Meanwhile, counsel for these institutions also submitted that they would abide by their undertaking on surrendering 25 per cent of the intake in respect of new faculties/subjects introduced for the academic year 2014–15.

The surrender of seats would be subject to the final result of the petitions filed by PG seat aspirants, who have complained that the government and the institutions were not honouring the undertaking on surrendering seats for “government quota.”

Also, the private medical colleges affiliated to the Consortium of Medical, Engineering and Dental Colleges in Karnataka will have to abide by their undertaking for surrendering 33 per cent of the seats.

COMEDK informed the court that it had been adhering to the consensual agreement signed with the State in this regard.

The court vacated its interim order for reserving 25 per cent seats in St John’s Medical College as it was pointed out that the institution had not given any undertaking for surrendering seats for the “government quota.”

Popular posts from this blog

SMC/MCI Registration Certificate required for DNB-CET/NEET-PG

Fine for leaving PG seats after 2nd round of counselling

DNB Family Medicine - Is it right for me?